You can find on this page a map showing London boroughs and a map presenting London neighborhoods. London boroughs & districts are the administrative divisions that share London in 32 municipal boroughs. Within each of its boroughs, the neighborhoods are making the charm and the reputation of the city of London.

Greater London is divided into 12 boroughs in London and 20 in the suburbs. A borough often includes several postcodes.
A borough corresponds to a former locality in London. London boroughs do not correspond to a borough or a postcode. Neighbourhoods have blurred boundaries and are usually defined by the residents. The names of London Underground stations often indicate these districts.

London Boroughs & Districts Map

London boroughs map

The division of London into boroughs dates from 1965 with a division into 32 booughs. Today, the boroughs are: City of London, City of Westminster, Kensington and Chelsea, Hammersmith and Fulham, Wandsworth, Lambeth, Southwark, Tower Hamlets, Hackney, Islington, Camden, Brent, Ealing, Hounslow, Richmond, Kingston, Merton, Sutton, Croydon, Bromley, Lewisham, Greenwich, Bexley, Havering, Barking and Dagenham, Redbridge, Newham, Waltham Forest, Haringey, Enfield, Barnet, Harrow, Hillingdon

Here is some information about the London boroughs:

  • The boroughs of Whitehall and Westminster: very rich in terms of architecture and important monuments.
  • The boroughs of Piccadilly and St James's: main artery of the West End.
  • The boroughs of Soho and Trafalgar Square: the most tolerant and multiracial boroughs in London.
  • Covent Garden and Strand: the liveliest boroughs in London.
  • The boroughs of Bloomsbury and Fitzrovia: residence for artists and writers.
  • The boroughs of Holborn and Inns of Court: boroughs where journalists and lawyers are concentrated. 
  • The City: London's financial district.
  • The boroughs of Smithfield and Spitalfields: the most historic areas of London. 
  • The boroughs of Southwark and Bankside: the liveliest boroughs in London. 
  • The South Bank boroughs: badly damaged during the Second World War, the London Eye is located here.
  • Chelsea Borough: home to artists and antique shops.
  • The boroughs of South Kensington and Knightsbridge: the most posh boroughs in London.
  • The boroughs of Kensington and Holland Park: luxurious residential areas.
  • The boroughs of Regent's Park and Marylebone: boroughs with a medical tradition.
  • Greenwich and Blackheath: boroughs with museums, bookshops, antique shops, markets and parks.

London Neighborhoods Map

London neighborhoods map

London reputation is made by its diverse neighborhoods, in which you will find monuments, squares or cultural venues.

These include:

  • Soho
  • Whitechapel and Brick Lane
  • Mayfair
  • Fitzrovia
  • Chelsea
  • Islington
  • South Bank
  • The West End
  • Convent Garden
  • Wimbeldon
  • Kesingston
  • Fulham
  • Noting Hill
  • Clapham
  • Bloomsbury


We advise you to visit the following 8 districts of London:

  • Westminster district: it is the historical heart of England with its most famous monuments (Palace, cathedral and Westminster Abbey). 
  • City district: the business district of London and Europe, the City is the 3rd largest financial centre in the world. Formerly a Roman city, the City is today the geographical centre of London where the Tower of London is located. 
  • Soho/Covent Garden districts: the most lively districts where you can see some of London's most emblematic places: Piccadilly Circus, Oxford Street, Trafalgar Square, Leicester Square, Chinatown and Regent Street.
  • Camden Town district: symbol of alternative cultures ranging from rockers to altermondialists, Camden is a place for parties and outings and also for vintage markets.
  • Chelsea/Kensington districts: the most bourgeois districts of London known for their calm and refinement (Victorian houses, parks and chic shops). 
  • Notting Hill district: with its pastel-coloured facades, this chic district transports us to another era.
  • Greenwich district: with its Victorian and Georgian monuments, the architecture of this district is magnificent. 
  • Mayfair district: it is one of the most chic districts of London where Buckingham Palace is located.